TFF: OSU's Billy Price wins Rimington Award as nation's top center


ATLANTA (WSXY/WTTE) -- For the second straight year, a Buckeye is the best center in college football.

Senior captain Billy Price won the Rimington Award a year after his former linemate, and current Minnesota Vikings standout, Pat Elflein took home the honor. Both converted to center for their senior season after spending their first three years of playing time at guard. Elflein was the first Buckeye to win an individual award since 2008: James Laurinitis (Lott Trophy - defensive impact) and Malcolm Jenkins (Jim Thorpe Award - top defensive back).

It's the first time in the award's 18-year history that it went to players from the same school in consecutive years.

The first-team All-Big Ten selection beat out West Virginia’s Tyler Orlosky and LSU’s Ethan Pocic.

Price holds the Ohio State record for most consecutive starts at 54 (OSU is 48-6 over that span).

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off